My Internship Experience: I Could Officially Work At a Copy Shop (Though I Hope I Never Have To)

By Amanda Eggert

When you think “intern” what’s the first thing that comes to mind? I bet it’s “fetching coffee” “making copies” or some other mundane job. Well, I would argue those tasks (within reason) aren’t so bad.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been involved in a new client pitch. It came to a head when the team presented round two. The morning of, I staggered into work at some unholy hour with the task of printing and binding six 100 page documents by 10:30 AM. When all was said and done, I printed out 10…let’s just say I have a new found appreciation of copy store employees.

It wasn’t hard work per se, but it was time consuming and working under a deadline added pressure. Attention to detail was of the utmost importance. Punch a page wrong, and you have to reprint. Tear a page, and you have to reprint. Mess up during printing, and you have to reprint. You get the idea. But at the end of the day, the experience only adds to my arsenal of skills. I would argue that the smaller skills are what seperates you from the competition. Not to mention understanding the inner workings of the advertising industry provides a knowledge base upon which to build.

So my advice to all the interns –or hopeful interns out there– don’t grumble at the smaller tasks. Prove that you’re willing to do whatever helps the team, and they will take notice.

Amanda Eggert is a senior studying advertising and communication at Marquette. She currently interns for Milwaukee advertising agency Laughlin Constable in the company’s online and digital department. Amanda will share her experience interning in the advertising world throughout the course of the semester.

2 Responses to “My Internship Experience: I Could Officially Work At a Copy Shop (Though I Hope I Never Have To)”



Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

IMG_1488

IMG_1511

IMG_1520

IMG_1516

More Photos

Follow us on Twitter


