Lessons in Advertising

By Amanda Eggert

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned from my internship at Laughlin Constable is to roll with the punches.

Advertising is a fast-paced industry that changes from minute to minute. There’s simply no time to pout or procrastinate. The options are go with the flow or be left behind. Perhaps the best example I have of this is my recent move to an office.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a creature of habit. When somewhat abruptly offered an office (a giant move up from my cubicle), my first thought was “Ahh! Something different!” Then 0.02 seconds past and I got a hold of myself. While nervous for a big change, I realized what a wonderful opportunity it was and just went with it. Days later I have an awesome space to call my own and am feeling more productive and integrated with the team.

Another aspect of rolling with the punches is letting things slide. Well, not “slide” as much as grow thicker skin. I’ll explain: I can’t tell you how many projects I’ve started (for prospective or current clients) that end up unnecessary, put on hold, or completely revised, days or even hours later. It’s tough to see hard work go to waste but that’s a product of advertising’s fast paced nature…it’s nothing against me.  Criticism is a good thing and every project is a learning opportunity regardless of whether the end product is used.

At the end of the day, it’s about embracing change. You just may be surprised at the outcome.

Amanda Eggert is a senior studying advertising and communication at Marquette. She currently interns for Milwaukee advertising agency Laughlin Constable in the company’s online and digital department. Amanda will share her experience interning in the advertising world throughout the course of the semester.

0 Responses to “Lessons in Advertising”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

IMG_1488

IMG_1511

IMG_1520

IMG_1516

More Photos

Follow us on Twitter


