Why I Love Class Live Tweeting

By Gee Ekachai

When I have guest speakers for my social media class, my students (without my asking) would live tweet the class sessions. Lots of time I had no ideas who was following our live tweets with #musm hashtag. Yesterday, Milwaukee restauranteur and AJ Bombers owner Joe Sorge (@AJBombers on Twitter) spoke to my class about how he uses social media and foursquare to generate buzz and engage with his customers. So I gave a shout out about his talk via my foursquare check-in and Twitter. A few minutes after, I got a tweet from UW-Madison News (My alma mater!) asking for a class hashtag. I was thrilled.
A minute later, I got a request from my social media class alum Mary Schless (@maryschless)

So I asked my students to chime in. Here’s part of their live tweets.

Some might say teaching with Twitter may not be for the faint of heart. So far, I’ve had a positive experience teaching with Twitter and I am so proud of my students.

Daradirek “Gee” Ekachai is an Associate Professor in the Department of Advertising and Public Relations at Marquette University.

3 Responses to “Why I Love Class Live Tweeting”


  1. 1 Meg March 2, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    I like my cameo on this post. Thanks Gee for bringing in so many great speakers!

  2. 2 Erica Conway March 3, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    By the way Gee, you rock Four Square. Your recommendations/tips are EVERYWHERE I check in. I’m impressed with your adoption and experimentation with these tools, I know your students benefit greatly from it too. Keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

Follow us on Twitter


