The Value of Twitter: Reaching Out

By Amanda Eggert

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve entered a conversation over the value of Twitter . People mistakenly see it as a medium to air complaints and give a tedious play by play of their day. Yes, some people use Twitter this way, but many don’t. So to illustrate one of the many benefits of using Twitter I’d like to share an anecdote.

While working in Adobe Illustrator the other week I ran into a technical error: No matter what I did I couldn’t save my work. I needed help so where did I turn? Twitter of course! I tweeted about my problem and within an hour received a response from @KStohl , a certified Adobe Instructor at  C2 Graphic Productivity Solutions in the Third Ward. He provided a link to an article with more information and invited me to email or call him with any questions. I got to bottom of my problem quickly and was very grateful for the help.

Unlike Facebook, Twitter breaks down social barriers. As shown above, it’s not uncommon to follow and converse with people you’ve never met. As a consumer, it’s almost flattering when someone reaches out to you. It makes things personal and relaxed. And I can assure you one thing, the next time I have any Adobe issues or training needs I know right where I’m going.

Amanda Eggert is a senior studying advertising and communication at Marquette. She currently interns for Milwaukee advertising agency Laughlin Constable in the company’s online and digital department. Amanda will share her experience interning in the advertising world throughout the course of the semester.

0 Responses to “The Value of Twitter: Reaching Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

IMG_1488

IMG_1511

IMG_1520

IMG_1516

More Photos

Follow us on Twitter


