Marquette: My Alma Mater

It’s hard to write a reflective post without coming across cheesy or sappy. (I’ve procrastinated on writing this post for two weeks because it always comes out sounding like a hallmark after school special.) With that said, I’ll try my best to keep this honest and heartfelt.

I graduate college in less than a month. Where did the time go?! Well, I can say that now but those nights studying for midterms or finals I sure had a different opinion. It seems like just yesterday I stepped onto campus for the first time…awkward, shy, and carrying my 25 pound backpack full of every textbook I owned.

As a smaller Jesuit university, Marquette was all about the relationships. Students, professors, faculty, alumni…you knew names and faces. Once I hit sophomore year, all my classes were 25-30 people. I loved it because I could strike up a conversation with anyone, anywhere. It felt like home. I never could have existed at a larger university. I never could have existed being just a number.

People often say you don’t appreciate something until it’s gone. Well, they’re right. If I have any advice for underclassmen, it’s to enjoy the Marquette experience. All of it. As in guest speakers, the awesome variety of classes and clubs, great resources like career services or the writing center, service opportunities like the hunger clean-up, basketball games, and the just people all around you.

I can honestly say I wouldn’t be where I am today if it weren’t for Marquette. More specifically, if it weren’t for the wonderful mentors who have steered me in the right direction. I wouldn’t trade my Jesuit education for anything. The people, the spirit, the service, I love it all. So, thank you Marquette. COLLEGE OF COMMUNCATION, 2010!!!

Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

Follow us on Twitter


