Reflections on the College Experience

By Emily Tau

Graduation. May 23rd is a day that is approaching way too quickly, but couldn’t come any faster.

Lately, I’ve found myself to be a wide mix of emotions. I’m hesitant to leave my Marquette home, I’m excited to move on to the next chapter of my life, and I’m nervous about what the future has to offer. It’s all bittersweet. I’ve been lucky enough to be a student worker and have worked in the Diederich College of Communication since I was a freshman. The experience, knowledge, and life lessons I have learned through this job are indispensible. I owe a lot of my success at Marquette to the professors and faculty of the college…Well, them and coffee…It’s going to be hard to say goodbye to people who have become my second family and Johnston Hall, which has become my home away from home (away from home).

In the past four years, I’ve learned some valuable lessons…

1. Yes, caffeine CAN be a substitute for sleep…but only for a short period of time. Trying to do this long-term just ends poorly.

2. Asking for help does not mean you’re weak. Nobody can do everything themselves. If you just ASK, you’d be surprised how many people want to help and want to see you succeed.

3. Sometimes all you need is a yellow chair, a good friend, and some life perspective.

4. There is no substitute for the friends you make in college. When you live together, eat together, study together, and spend your weekends together, they will quickly become your family. I couldn’t have asked for a better, more supportive family.

5. Hard work DOES pay off. I can attest that the all-nighters and sacrificed weekends spent in the library helped me reach the point I’m at.

6. Having fun and letting loose is important too. Sometimes you need to remember to breathe. As Ferris Bueller said, “Life moves pretty fast. You don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

I graduate May 23rd, I move out of Milwaukee May 25th, and on June 1st, I will start as the Social Media Marketing Intern for Bar Louie America. I have Marquette University to thank for it. For the past four years I have been studying, learning, retaining, and working extremely hard so that I would succeed when it was time to leave Marquette and move on to the next stage of my life. I cannot believe that time is finally here, and, while it is bittersweet, I can, with confidence, say that I am definitely prepared.

So, thank you. To everybody who has touched my life in the past four years. Professors, advisors, administration, mentors, and friends: my Marquette family. I wouldn’t be where I am without you. I wouldn’t be who I am without you. Thank you.

Emily Tau is a senior in the Diederich College of Communication and an avid social media user. She will graduate in May 2010.

Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

IMG_1488

IMG_1511

IMG_1520

IMG_1516

More Photos

Follow us on Twitter


