The Power of a Brick

By Carole Burns

I work in the Diederich College of Communication so I shouldn’t be surprised when communicating a need actually produces results. Recently,  I read an article in The Wall Street Journal about a man who left his job to spend time building sculptures out of LEGOs. I was very impressed by the article, not because this man, Dirk Denoyelle, received a high honor from LEGO – three years ago they added them to the elite group of LEGO Certified Professionals – one of only ten individuals.

But my admiration went even deeper than that. I have been trying to start a business for my son; a LEGO store that would employ individuals on the Autism Spectrum (ASD) and prepare them for work at companies and businesses throughout the country. This was the first time I had such high-proof that LEGOs go far beyond the childhood years.  There are, in fact, an entire group of Adult Fans of LEGO (AFOL) and they are creating amazing things.

Within this article were names of individuals at LEGO that I have been trying to get in touch with; anyone who would read our business plan, see its value, and offer support in either financial backing or product. I took a chance and emailed all of them, hoping that my business plan would finally be viewed by the LEGO company and receive its blessing.

I received a return email from the Senior PR and Communications manager stating that he was going to pass the plan along to members of the LEGO family. To say that I am excited is an understatement. Finally, a chance to perhaps made this dream come true. As a parent of an individual affected by Autism, I can’t begin to explain how uplifting this moment is or how much of a difference it would make in his life. To be able to know that he has a way of taking care of himself when I’m not around, to not have to depend on a social security system that is having difficulties of its own, to build his self-esteem and self-worth to a level we never thought possible.

Then to be able to take this business and provide the same peace of mind to other families in similar situations. The world of email and electronic communication is indeed a magical place.

So I figured if this was one foot in the door – why not go for many. At the end of this post you will find a link to my business plan.  Everyone knows someone, by passing this plan along you may be able to make this dream come true. I thank you in advance for your assistance and hope to see you walk in the doors of Brick by Brick as a customer some day.

In any event, keep your fingers crossed and your hopes high.  I will keep you updated and hope to be able to report even better news in the next update.

Carole J. Burns is the Director of the Wakerly Technology Training Center at Marquette University. Follow her on Twitter @burnsy1217.

0 Responses to “The Power of a Brick”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual authors and do not represent the views of Marquette University or the Diederich College of Communication.

Flickr Photos

Follow us on Twitter


